Currency and exchange offices

Here are some useful information, just to get you familiar with the currency of the Republic of Serbia and possibilities of exchanging money.


The official currency of the Republic of Serbia is the dinar (RSD).
Coins: 1, 2, 5, 10 and 20 dinars
Notes: 10, 20, 50, 100, 200, 500, 1000, 2000 and 5000 dinars

The official exchange rate for EUR according to the National Bank of Serbia is about 120 RSD for 1 EUR (exchange rate fluctuations are to be expected). We advise you to check the accurate information on exchange rates on the official website of the National Bank of Serbia.

Foreign currency can be exchanged in all banks (but their exchange rates are usually less beneficial for you), as well as in the many authorized exchange offices (in Serbian: MENJAČNICA).

Exchange offices can be found almost on every corner and most of them do not charge any commission for exchanging Euros, but some do, so please check or ask at the Exchange office.

Most exchange offices will only exchange Euros and Dollars, for other currencies you will probably need to go to a bank.

All the payment should be in dinars, because, generally shops can't receive another currency.

Besides the cash, you can use all major debit and credit cards in most places.


There are many different banks in Kragujevac. The list of bank operating in Serbia can be found here.

You can open an account in any bank you want (account for non-residents) and the procedure is quite simple, you just have to bring with you your passport and residence permit/white card).

You can use the ATMs to make cash withdrawals or your cards to make payments. Most supermarkets, shops and restaurants accept credit and debit cards (Visa, Visa Electron, Master, Maestro, Diners). You are advised to check the acceptability of the cards at a specific place before making any purchase.