Grading system

European Credit Transfer System

The Law on Higher Education in the Republic of Serbia introduced ECTS as the mandatory credit system to be used by all higher education institutions in all degree programmes, for both credit transfer and accumulation. The ECTS system is fully implemented in all HEIs. Every study program includes precise description of the courses and the number of ECTS that are based on the workload students need in order to achieve expected learning outcomes.

Workload for a full-time year of study (academic year) is 60 ECTS, ie. 30 ECTS for a semester.

ECTS makes teaching and learning in higher education more transparent across Europe and facilitates the recognition of all studies. The system allows for the transfer of learning experiences between different institutions, greater student mobility and more flexible routes to gain degrees. It also assists curriculum design and quality assurance.

In Serbia, university students are graded on a 5 to 10 grading scale.

Local Grade Description No. of points *
10 Excellent 91-100
9 Exceptionally good >81-90
8 Very good >71-80
7 Good 61-70
6 Passing 51-60
5 Failing 0-50

* Note: The indicated number of points may vary from faculty to faculty, or even on departmental level, as it relates to the evaluation of student knowledge (maximum 100 points) and includes pre-exam obligations (class activity, seminars, presentations, colloquia, etc.) and the final exam.

Performance of students is monitored continuously during classes and is expressed in points - for fulfillment of exam prerequisites and passing the exam a student can earn a maximum of 100 points (pre-exam obligations participate with a minimum of 30 and a maximum of 70 points).

Details on pre-exam obligations, final exam and the exact number of allocated points can be find in study courses sylabi.